The new WhatsApp feature called ‘Accidental Delete’ will help you avoid those awkward moments when you accidentally send a message to the wrong person or group and click the wrong button.
The “Accidental Delete Feature” was designed primarily to protect users from embarrassment when they inadvertently select “Delete for Me” rather than “Delete for Everyone” when deleting an important communication. Using the undo function, the deleted message can be quickly recovered. We’ve all done it, but now you can “UNDO” when you delete a message for only yourself when you meant to delete it for everyone, according to the company.
Notes to remember before using WhatsApp delete for everyone
To successfully delete messages for everyone, you and the recipients must be using the most recent version of WhatsApp.
Even after the message is deleted from the WhatsApp chat, recipients using WhatsApp for iOS may still have the media you sent saved to their Photos.
Recipients may see your message before it is deleted or if deletion fails.
If deleting for everyone fails, you will not be notified.
You have approximately 2 days after sending a message to request Delete for Everyone.
Only group administrators have the ability to delete messages sent by other group members.
After someone else sends a message, group admins have about 2 days to request Delete for Everyone.
Read on to learn how to use the “Accidental Delete Undo” feature.
1. Open the WhatsApp application.
2. Start any conversation you’re having.
3. Click “Delete for Me” to delete any irrelevant messages.
4. There will be a “undo” option at the snack bar.
5. Using the undo option, you can quickly recover the message.
6. Keep in mind that the undo option is only available for a limited time. If the message is not clicked within the time limit, it will be permanently deleted.
7. If you don’t see the undo option after deleting a message, update WhatsApp to the most recent version.